The Local Way Is The Best Way

As I mentioned before, to experience a nation’s best, you have to go the local way. Meeting the locals of Taiwan led me to believe this stronger. I have been to 11 countries already and I think Taiwan has the best locals, so far. Let me tell you my experience. It is only recently that Taiwan opened it’s doors visa-free that’s why it’s locals are not yet used to see foreigners roaming their streets – I think that  might be the reason why. At first, I have a bad taste with their locals because they do not smile. I associate warmth with a smile because everyone is smiling in my country. I interpret a poker face with anger or apathy, but I was so  w r o n g  with Taiwanese. They were so accommodating and hospitable.

There were a lot of times when we didn’t even asked for their help, but they helped us. When they see us get lost or confused by their railway system, they approached us and asked us where we’re going and try to help us even if they cannot speak English that much. My friend ran out coins when we rode their bus but we have to pay an exact amount, without hesitation, the woman in front of her gave her NT$100 coins in exchange for my friend’s bill. Also, when the staff in Zhinan temple saw us arrive and look around, she gave us a FREE tour (I know!!!) with a complete explanation of the people, dates, and juicy trivias. She warned us that she speaks little English but she’s willing to show us around. When were done, she left us without even asking for a tip or donation. Same goes for the head nurse that we met in the bus, she went off with us and showed us the cheapest place for their favorite bread, gave us her Facebook contact details so we can reach out to her if we have questions, and gave us haggling tips for their night market. That’s how accommodating they are.

Taiwan will be a sweet memory for me, thanks to their locals. If you’ll visit this country, you have one less thing to worry, their locals are the BEST. I’ll be writing more about my experience, so stay tuned! #GorgeousGoes

One thought on “The Local Way Is The Best Way

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.